Homestay Ordinance

On Jan. 22, 2019, Christiansburg Town Council passed a homestay ordinance in response to the growing popularity of home-based lodging options. The ordinance – which goes into effect July 1, 2019 – requires Christiansburg residents to obtain an annual permit with the Town to be a homestay host and to register with the finance department to collect and remit the applicable fees and taxes. 

The homestay dwelling – which cannot include any accessory structures (i.e. detached garages, converted sheds, etc.) – must be the primary residence of the host, which means the host must live in the dwelling for more than half of the calendar year. There are no limitations on the number of days the host can rent out the dwelling. A safety inspection of the dwelling will be performed by the building and fire departments prior to issuance of a permit for homestay use.

The Town will be holding one more information sessions to provide additional information on the homestay ordinance and how to apply for a homestay permit. Join us on:

*Thursday, June 13, at 6 p.m. in Council Chambers at Town Hall

Town staff will walk through the application process and be available to answer questions. Can't make either meeting? Town staff members are also available to meet with you on an individual basis. For more information or to schedule a time to meet outside of the information sessions, please call Assistant Town Manager Andrew Warren at (540) 382-6128, ext. 1130.


How do I register my residence as a homestay?

  • Residents who are currently homestay hosts must submit a homestay permit to the Town of Christiansburg prior to July 1, 2019 - the date the homestay ordinance goes into effect. We encourage residents to submit their applications early; taxing and reporting will not be required until July 1. Failure to register as a homestay can result in a $500 fine.
  • Once the homestay permit has been submitted in-person at Town Hall, via mail to 100 E. Main Street, or via email with an electronic signature, the Building Department will contact the applicant to schedule a safety inspection. It may take up to 10 business days to schedule the safety inspection, depending on the volume of applications at the time.
  • Once the safety inspection is complete, the homestay permit will be approved. You will then need to submit a business license formUpon submittal and payment of an initial $30 business license fee, the Town's Finance Department will issue your business license. 
    • Subsequent year business license fees are based on gross receipts; the minimum fee is $30. 
  • Once your business license has been issued, you will be responsible for filing monthly lodging tax forms, which are due by the 20th of each month. The first return will be due Aug. 20, 2019, for the month of July. 

Homestay Permit Flow Chart


How do I register with Virginia Tax?

The Virginia Retail Sales and Use Act establishes a tax on the sale, lease, rental, or use or consumption of tangible personal property in Virginia, as well as taxable services in Virginia. A seller is subject to the sales tax imposed on gross receipts from retail sales. "Retail sales" means sales made for any purpose other than for resale. The tax may also apply to the furnishing of transient accommodations and the lease or rental of personal property.

As a homestay host, you must register with Virginia Tax. Please click here to learn more and review instructions for registering.